Las Vegas Failure To Register As A Sex Offender Lawyer
Because Nevada law punishes sex offenders heavily for their sex crimes, Nevada courts do not also take it lightly when a sex offender has failed to register after his/her conviction. Registry requirements can haunt an individual long after the punishments for the sex offense have been concluded so it is important that you contact an experienced criminal lawyer who can help defend your Failure to Register charge.
Requirements for sex offenders in Nevada:
Under NRS 179D.550, it is illegal for a sex offender to:
- Fail to register with a local law enforcement agency;
- Fail to notify the local law enforcement agency of a change of name, residence, employment or student status; or
- Provide false or misleading information to the Central Repository or a local law enforcement agency;
Penalties and punishments for failing to register:
If a sex offense violates any of the listed information above, he/she is guilty of a category D felony and will be punished:
- A minimum term of 1 year and a maximum term of no more than 4 years in a state prison; and
- A possible fine of no more than $5,000.
If the sex offender violates any of the listed information above within seven years of the first violation, he/she is guilty of a category C felony and will be punished:
- A minimum term of 1 year and a maximum term of no more than 5 years in a state prison; and
- A possible fine of no more than $10,000.
It is important to note that failing to register is a strict liability offense. This means that whether you simply missed the deadline to register or decided to not register at all, you can still be convicted of this charge.
If you have been charged with failing to register, it is imperative you contact a qualified Las Vegas criminal lawyer who can help get you the representation you deserve. Contact Adrian Lobo today at 702-290-8998 to schedule a consultation and be one step closer to getting you desire in your case.